• Home Page

    ThruppPrimary School


    Welcome to our Governors’ section.


    Role of a school governor:

    To contribute to the work of the governing board in ensuring high standards of achievement for all children and young people in the school by:

    • setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction
    • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
    • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent


    All governors are volunteers to their posts.They are a group of people interested in education who support the school and Headteacher, to ensure the best possible education for your child. Among their responsibilities are curriculum, staffing, premises, finances, equal opportunities and health and safety. The Governors meet regularly and are continuously involved in the life of the school.

    The Governing Body completed the process of reconstitution on June 30th 2015.  Under the transition arrangements, all members of the Governing body had to start new terms of office. Governors serve for a term of 4 years.


    Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor:


    Our school’s governing body consists of 15 people who include:


    Five Parent GovernorsParent governors are elected by the parents and carers of school pupils.


    Our Parent Governors are:

    Mr Philip Auton (GDPR governor)

    Mr Gavin Deichen

    Mr Ben Morris

    Mr Chris Pearce

    Mr Andrew Young (Sports governor)


    Seven Co-opted GovernorsCo-opted governors are appointed by the governing body. Co-opted governors are people who in the opinion of the governing body have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.


    Our Co-opted Governors are:

    Mr Andre Bovington (Chair)

    Mr Jim Bocock

    Mrs Andrea Jordan (Safeguarding & SEN governor)

    Mr Glyn Jones

    Ms Valerie Swanson (EYFS governor)

    Mrs Marianne James




    One Local Authority GovernorLocal authority governors are nominated by the local authority but appointed by the governing body. The local authority can nominate any eligible person as a local authority governor, but it is for the governing body to decide whether their nominee has the skills to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school and meets any other eligibility criteria they have set.


    Our Local Authority Governor is:

    Mr Roger Martin


    One Staff GovernorWho is elected by fellow members of staff.


    Our Staff Governor is:

    Mrs Tina Harris


    HeadteacherMrs Donna Mylechreest is automatically elected to a position on the governing body.


    The governors are supported in their role by a Clerk to Governors who is currently

    Mrs Hannah Kelly. (


    Please click on the links below for further information:

    We have had a fantastic 2019 with a very successful Ofsted and being in the top ten best primary schools in Gloucestershire. Please follow the link in 'News and Events' to read about our successful 2019. We currently have spaces available for Reception and Year 1 pupils.